RiverPalooza 2017!


RiverPalooza is a season-long annual event designed to provide families and river enthusiasts with memorable on-the-water experiences. The event raises awareness for the many roles the Potomac plays; an urban yet unspoiled recreational destination which inspires and delights, critical drinking water source for 6 million residents, habitat for an amazing assortment of wildlife and an economic driver for tourism and development.

No other event of its kind offers as wide a range of on-the-water and paddling events. RiverPalooza includes canoe trips, kayak adventures, snorkeling, floats and races for all skill levels make RiverPalooza popular for all ages. And best of all, the event builds an army of people who love the river and engage in its protection. 

This year, we are expanding RiverPalooza to include events spread across four months in locations from the greater metropolitan Washington area, to the rural areas of the Shenandoah and the Upper Potomac. Our kickoff event is at a breathtaking location in Harper’s Ferry June 3rd and we will wrap it all up with  a Stand Up for Clean Water Event on September 24, 2017, in celebration of World Rivers Day and the 45th Anniversary of the Clean Water Act.

RiverPalooza Event Schedule

§  Saturday, June 3, - Kick-Off “Make a SPLASH for Clean Water” in Harpers Ferry 3 launch sites, beginner tubing and duckie floats and Intermediate level raft trip. Post-rafting celebration music, food and camping options

§  Sunday, June 4, - Antietam Creek Float—a tour through history

§  Monday, June 5 - Shenandoah Float perfect for birdwatchers

§  Saturday, June 17—American Indian Cultural Interpretation Paddle with the Piscataway Conoy Tribe on Piscataway Creek

§  Wednesday, June 21— After work Summer Solstice Monuments Paddle with the Washington Canoe Club

§  Saturday, June 24-- “Ghost Fleet Paddle” Mallows Bay with Chesapeake Conservancy and REI- Captain John Smith

§  Saturday to Sunday, July 15-16 - Paw Paw Bends Over Night 

§  Friday, July 21 – Shenandoah Float—Fishing

§  Friday, August 25--Shenandoah River Snorkeling-South Fork

§  Sunday, August 27—North Branch Potomac/Dam Release

§  Friday, September 8—Dyke Marsh Sunset Paddle-Potomac Heritage Standup Paddle Board/Kayak Sunset Paddle 

§  Saturday, September 9— Women on the Water with Calleva –Potomac Heritage Trail

§  Sunday, September 10— Pedal to Paddle on the Upper Potomac—Potomac Heritage Trail 

§  Sunday, September 24--Stand Up for Clean Water Celebration on World Rivers Day —(details TBD)